Documentation (beta)

User Management & Permissions

SyncRelease is a multi-user release management and deployment system, thus allowing you to add people to your projects with fine-grained control. For example, You can add someone only to be able to create releases while not allowing to deploy. Or you can decide that developers can deploy only to certain environments such as staging but not production servers.


This section will cover user management and how to assign permission at Project level or Environment level.


User Roles

There are two types of users in SyncRelease, or simply referred to as Roles. They are as follow:


(1) Administrator - this is super user role that has access to any page on SyncRelease application with full permissions as well as ability to add or remove other user accounts. By default, when installing SyncRelease you will be entering credentials for a default Administrator account.


(2) User - this is normal user role, and those with this role will have limited access and privileges in using SyncRelease, depending on how administrators assigned them with specific permissions.


What Administrators can do?

In highlight, administrators can do the followings:

  • Add/edit/remove users
  • Reset passwords for other users
  • Create/edit/delete Projects
  • Setup/edit/delete environments
  • Starting and stopping Deployment Daemon.
  • Assign Project level permissions to a normal user
  • Assign Environment level permissions to a normal user

In essence, this type of user role can be used for giving access to people like system administrators and QA/release managers.


What Users can do?

Followings is the highlight of permissions for normal users.

  • User only sees the projects permitted or assigned to.
  • User can create release for a particular project only if explicitly granted by an administrator.
  • User can deploy to all environments only if an administrator granted project-wise permission for deployment.
  • User can deploy only to designated environment(s) if an administrator has not granted project-wise permission for deployment.

Typically, this type of user role can be used for giving access to people like developers and QAs to create releases or deploy to particular environments such as staging, test or production.






How to view all users?

To view all the users on your SyncRelease system, first login as an administrator.


  • Click Settings tab on main menu
  • Next click on User Management. After that, you will see list of all the users on your SyncRelease system.
../_images/user-fig1.png





How to add a user?


  • First follow the same steps as to view all users by clicking Settings > User Management.
  • Next, click on Add User link on the right side of page.
../_images/user-fig2.png
  • Then, you will see a form for adding a new user. Fill out the necessary information and upon submit, a new user account will be created.





How to delete a user?

  • First follow the same steps as to view all users by clicking Settings > User Management.
  • Look for the user you want to delete, and then click on Delete link button under the last column called Manage.
../_images/user-fig3.png





How to reset password?

  • First follow the same steps as to view all users by clicking Settings > User Management.
  • Look for the user you want to reset password for, and then click on Edit link button under the last column called Manage.
../_images/user-fig4.png
  • Then, you will see a form for editing currently user information, similar to the one below.
../_images/user-fig5.png





How to add people to a project?

When you want to add a user to a particular project as a release creator or code deployer, you first need to login as an administrator and explicitly grant such privilege to an existing normal user.


Note

Please note that administrator accounts are always accessible to all Projects on your SyncRelease application and thus they are members of every project.


To continue with adding a existing normal user to a existing project, please follow the steps below.


  • Go to the project you want to add the user to by clicking on Projects on the main menu.
  • Click on the project to which you want to add an existing normal user.
../_images/sites-fig1.png

  • Then, look for People section on the right side of the page, and start typing the name of an existing user to add.
../_images/user-fig6.png



  • Upon choosing the name of the user you want to add from auto suggest, click on Add someone button. Then you will see a screen like below.
../_images/user-fig7.png



  • After successful completion, you will see the newly added user listed under People section.